理解 (浮肿) 脑肿胀

理解 (浮肿) 脑SwellingIf你碰到你的胳膊肘, 它很可能会膨胀. 然而, 如果你打你的头,它影响你的大脑?

脑肿胀 — 还描述为脑水肿 — 是人体的一种反应,多种损伤或创伤的. 肿胀可以监督感染的结果. 一般, 肿胀发生快速且是可管理与其余的一些混合物, 冰, 药物治疗, 海拔, 或除去过量的流体的.

你的大脑的大小也可以扩大为破坏的结果, 病痛, 或其他原因. 脑肿胀, 虽然, 可立即引起严重的问题 — 包括死亡. 它通常也更难以治疗. 当你的身体的中央控制系统, 大脑整体功能显著. 厚, 那紧贴守卫这个重要器官骨骷髅得到的小房间大脑肿胀.

会发生什么的时候,大脑骤升

有几个条件名称包括脑肿胀:

颅内压增高
脑水肿
脑水肿

即可消肿蒸腾在特定位置或整个大脑-depending的原因. 不论在何处发生, 脑肿胀增加了头骨内部的压力. 这被认为是颅内压或ICP. 这种压力可以运动到你的大脑抑制血液, 剥夺其需要的功能的氧的它. 肿也可以发送你的大脑阻止其他流体, 更严重使得肿胀. 脑细胞的破坏将导致这些细胞的死亡.

脑解剖

是什么原因导致脑肿胀?

伤, 其他健康问题, such as, 肿瘤, 感染, 甚至是在过高的高度 — 这些问题都可以产生脑肿胀的任何一个,
下面的列表说明了不同的方式脑肿胀开始.

创伤性脑损伤 (TBI): 一个TBI还描述了一种脑损伤, 头部受伤, 或获得性脑损伤. 在TBI, 突发事件损害大脑. 无论是物理触摸本身以及迅速加速和减速头可以开发受伤. TBI的最普遍的原因包括:车辆碰撞, 下降, 袭击, 被击中或撞到物体. 最初的损伤可以使脑组织膨出. Additionally, 骨的破碎件可以打破血管中的头部的任何部分. 身体的损伤反应也可以进一步肿胀. 过多的炎症可能防止流体从大脑流向.
缺血性中风: 缺血性中风的原理是最常见的中风是由血凝块形成或阻碍或接近脑. 在一个冲程大脑不能够接受的血 — 和氧气 — 它需要执行其功能. 作为结果, 脑细胞开始窒息. 由于大脑反应, 可发生炎症.

脑 (脑内) 中风和出血: 出血表示血液从血管渗漏. 出血性中风是最普遍的类型的脑出血. 这些发生的血管时,大脑中的断裂. 由于血液排泄和身体反应, 压力大脑内部开发. 由压力引起的高血压被认为是这种中风的最常见原因. 在脑溢血,也可引起颅脑损伤, certain medications, 目前从出生和未知畸形.
感染: 病从感染性生物,如细菌或病毒引发的可导致脑肿胀.

这些条件的事例包括::

  • 脑膜炎: 这是在其中脑的涵盖部分变得红肿的感染. 它可以通过细菌的影响, viruses, 其他生物, 甚至某些药物.
    脑炎: 这是在大脑本身变得红肿感染. 这是最经常被一群病毒引起的,通常是由昆虫叮咬传播. 类似的情况被命名为脑病, 这是由于瑞氏综合征.
  • 弓形体病: 这种病毒是由寄生虫产生. 经常弓形体病危害胎儿, 婴幼儿, 人们受损的免疫系统.
  • 硬膜下积脓: 硬膜下积脓涉及脑的区域生长脓肿或拥挤脓, 通常其他疾病后,如鼻窦感染或脑膜炎. 感染可快速地传播, 引起炎症和离开脑阻塞其他流体.
  • 肿瘤: 在大脑的生长可以在几个方面肿胀. 作为肿瘤发展, 它可以压缩对大脑的其他区域. 在大脑的某些部分肿瘤可能泄漏出大脑的阻碍脑脊液. 新血管和附近的肿瘤发展也可导致炎症.
  • 高海拔: 虽然研究人员并不知道具体情况, 脑肿胀是更有可能在高度以上发生 4,900 脚. 这种类型的脑水肿经常与严重急性高山病链接 (AMS) 或高原脑水肿 (AGO).
    什么是大脑的肿胀症状?

脑肿胀的症状范围从轻微到严重, 视病情轻重及原因. 平时, 他们突然开始. 您可能会注意到这些症状:

  • 行走无力
  • 头痛
  • 颈部疼痛或僵硬
  • Dizziness
  • 呼吸不规则
  • 视力减退或变更
  • 恶心或呕吐
  • 记忆丧失
  • 说话困难
  • 癫痫发作
  • 麻木
  • 意识丧失


如何脑肿胀检测?

和你的医生用来诊断大脑是根据症状肿胀的步骤疑似原因. 在诊断中使用常规的检查和测试包括:

  • 头部的CT扫描来识别溶胀程度和位置
  • 头颈部检查
  • 验血监测肿胀的原因
  • 神经系统检查
  • 头部的MRI识别溶胀程度和位置

什么是治疗脑肿胀?

大脑小的情况下,由于肿胀等原因小幅震荡或轻微的高原反应往往在几天内改善. 在多数情况下, 然而, 更多的手术,则需迅速.

的目的是为了保证大脑得到充分的血液和氧气保持良好,而肿胀减小,并且任何基本条件进行处理. 这可能需要的治疗和手术治疗的组合. 及时治疗通常会导致更快更完全的恢复. 没有它, 一些伤害可能会持续.

治疗脑水肿可包括下列的任意组合:

  • 氧疗: 通过呼吸器或其他方式给予氧气有助于确保血液中有充足的氧气在它. 外科医生可以通过调整呼吸,以帮助减少肿胀的量.
  • 静脉输液: 提供了一个IV内的液体和药物可以阻止血液压力下降过低. 这是为了保证身体 — 包括大脑 — 得到足够的血液. 然而, 一些液体可以使红肿更糟. 医生试图用正确的流体适量某人与脑肿胀.
  • 降低体温 (低温): 删除身体和大脑的温度有助于减轻肿胀和让大脑愈合. 低温为脑肿胀疗法没有被广泛使用,因为的管理不同变量的复杂性; 它是很难正确地执行.
  • 药物治疗: 在脑水肿的一些实例, 你的外科医生可以开始药物来帮助减轻肿胀. 药物也可由于其他原因发展, 如你身体的反应减缓至肿胀或扩散任何凝块. 你的医生给您的药物依赖的原因和脑肿胀症状.
  • 脑室: 在此过程中, 外科医生使得在头骨中的孔小的切口,并插入一个小的合成排放管. 脑脊液从脑子里面取出, 帮助减轻压力.
  • Surgery: 手术可能有其中一个或多个目标 :
    去除颅骨部分,以减轻,颅内压的操作, 描述为去骨瓣减压.
    删除或修复肿胀的原因, 如恢复受损动脉或静脉或移除生长
这股医药展览比较了头部和大脑的三个轴向的观点来描述大脑的肿胀进展. 以下视图中示出:
1- 正常的大脑解剖充满液体的空间周围的脑.
2- 轻度脑水肿与脑组织向外压靠在墙壁头骨.
3- 中度脑水肿进一步的脑组织肿胀和炎症, 大脑内的压缩心室.

是否有肿胀的长期影响?

这自然有脑挥之不去的影响肿胀,因为它可以创伤. 你注意到这些问题取决于重力以及损伤的位置.
症状可能是以下中的任何一个:

  • 萧条
  • 思考和注意力的技巧
  • 头痛
  • 运动
  • 沟通技巧
    您的健康保健提供者可用以帮助你克服这些潜在的并发症,而有些问题可以延伸到随时间减少, 其他人可能需要持续治疗.

我怎样才能保护我的头?

为防止大脑, 把这些技巧记住,当您去了解你的日常活动:

  • 骑自行车时使用的头套, 溜冰, 打身体接触的运动, 或执行其他活动中,你可能会跌落并撞到了头.
  • 驾驶或乘坐车辆时,必须佩戴安全带正确.
  • 确保你正在做的一切可以控制高血压和心脏疾病.
  • 避免吸烟.
  • 当在高海拔地区移动约, 慢慢来 — 让你的身体调整到海拔.

Understanding (Edema) Brain Swelling

Understanding (Edema) Brain SwellingIf you bump your elbow, it is likely to swell. However, what if you hit your head and it impacted your brain?

Brain Swelling — also described as a brain edema — is the body’s reaction to many kinds of injury or trauma. Swelling can be a result of oversight infection. Normally, swelling occurs fast and is manageable with some mixture of rest, ice, medication, elevation, or removal of excess fluid.

The size of your brain can also enlarge as a result of damage, ailment, or other cause. Brain swelling, though, can immediately cause serious problems — including death. It is also usually more difficult to treat. As your body’s central control system, the brain is significant to overall function. The thick, bony skull that snugly guards this vital organ affords little room for the brain to swell.

What Happens When the Brain Swells

Several condition names include brain swelling:

Elevated intracranial pressure
Brain edema
Cerebral edema

Swelling can transpire in particular locations or throughout the brain -depending on the cause. Wherever it occurs, brain swelling increases the pressure inside the skull. That is recognized as intracranial pressure or ICP. This pressure can inhibit blood from moving to your brain, which deprives it of the oxygen it needs to function. Swelling can also block other fluids from transmitting your brain, making the swelling even graver. Destruction of a brain cell would cause the death of these cells.

Anatomy of the Brain

What Causes Brain Swelling?

Injury, other health problems, such as, tumors, infections, and even being at too high altitudes — any one of these problems can produce brain swelling,
The list below explains different ways the brain start swelling.

Traumatic brain injury (TBI): A TBI has also described a brain injury, head injury, or acquired brain injury. In TBI, an unexpected event damages the brain. Both the physical touch itself and the swift acceleration and deceleration of the head can develop the injury. The most prevalent causes of TBI include vehicle crashes, falls, assaults, being hit with or crashing into an object. The initial injury can make brain tissue to bulge. Additionally, broken parts of bone can break blood vessels in any portion of the head. The body’s reaction to the injury may also further swelling. Too much inflammation may prevent fluids from flowing from the brain.
Ischemic strokes: Ischemic stroke is the principle the most common stroke and is created by a blood clot or obstructing in or close to the brain. During a stroke brain is incapable of accepting blood — and oxygen — it requires to perform its function. As a consequence, brain cells start to suffocate. As the brain reacts, inflammation can occur.

Brain (intracerebral) strokes and hemorrhages: Hemorrhage indicates blood is leaking from a blood vessel. Hemorrhagic strokes are the most prevalent type of brain hemorrhage. These happen when blood vessels in the brain rupture. As blood excretes and the body responds, pressure develops inside the brain. High blood pressure caused by stress is thought to be the most prevalent cause of this kind of stroke. Hemorrhages in the brain can also be caused to head injury, certain medications, and unknown malformations present from birth.
Infections: Illness triggered by an infectious organism such as a bacterium or virus can lead to brain swelling.

Instances of these conditions include:

  • Meningitis: This is an infection in which the encompass portions of the brain becomes inflamed. It can be affected by bacteria, viruses, other organisms, and even some medications.
    Encephalitis: This is an infection in which the brain itself becomes swollen. It is most often caused by a group of viruses and is usually spread by insect bites. A similar condition is named encephalopathy, which is due to Reye’s syndrome.
  • Toxoplasmosis: This virus is produced by a parasite. Toxoplasmosis frequently harms fetuses, young infants, and people with damaged immune systems.
  • Subdural empyema: Subdural empyema relates to a region of the brain growing abscessed or congested with pus, usually after another illness such as sinus infection or meningitis. The infection can spread swiftly, causing inflammation and blocking other fluid from leaving the brain.
  • Tumors: Growths in the brain can make swelling in several ways. As a tumor develops, it can compress against other areas of the brain. Tumors in some sections of the brain may hinder cerebrospinal fluid from leaking out of the brain. New blood vessels developing in and near the tumor can also lead to inflammation.
  • High altitudes: Even though researchers do not know the specific circumstances, brain swelling is more likely to occur at elevations above 4,900 feet. This type of brain edema is regularly linked with serious acute mountain sickness (AMS) or high-altitude cerebral edema (HACE).
    What Are the Symptoms of Brain Swelling?

Symptoms of brain swelling range from mild to serious, depending on the severity and the cause. Usually, they begin suddenly. You may notice any of these symptoms:

  • Inability to walk
  • Headache
  • Neck pain or stiffness
  • Dizziness
  • Irregular breathing
  • Vision loss or changes
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Memory loss
  • Difficulty speaking
  • Seizures
  • Stupor
  • Loss of consciousness


How Is Brain Swelling Detected?

The steps employed by your physician to diagnose brain swelling are based on symptoms and the suspected cause. Routine exams and tests used in the diagnosis include:

  • CT scan of the head to identify the extent and location of the swelling
  • Head and neck exam
  • Blood tests to monitor for causes of the swelling
  • Neurologic exam
  • MRI of the head to identify the extent and location of the swelling

What Is the Treatment for Brain Swelling?

Lesser cases of brain swelling due to reasons such as a slight concussion or mild altitude sickness often improve within a few days. In most cases, however, more surgery is needed promptly.

The purpose is to ensure that the brain gets sufficient blood and oxygen to remain well while the swelling is reduced and any underlying conditions are treated. This may entail a combination of therapeutic and surgical treatments. Prompt treatment usually results in quicker and more complete recovery. Without it, some damage may persist.

Treatment for brain edema can incorporate any combination of the following:

  • Oxygen therapy: Administering oxygen through a respirator or other ways helps ensure that the blood has enough oxygen in it. The surgeon can adjust the respirator to help decrease the amount of swelling.
  • IV fluids: Providing fluids and medicine within an IV can prevent blood pressure from dropping too low. This serves to ensure that the body — including the brain — is getting enough blood. However, some fluids can make swelling worse. Physicians attempt to use the right amounts of the right fluids in someone with brain swelling.
  • Lowering body temperature (hypothermia): Dropping the temperature of the body and brain helps reduce swelling and allows the brain to heal. Hypothermia as a therapy for brain swelling is not widely used because of the complexity of managing the different variables; it is difficult to perform correctly.
  • Medication: In some instances of brain edema, your surgeon may begin a medication to help relieve the swelling. Medication can also be developed for other reasons, such as to slow your body’s reaction to the swelling or to diffuse any clots. The medications your physician gives you depend on the cause and symptoms of brain swelling.
  • Ventriculostomy: In this procedure, a surgeon makes an incision in a small hole in the skull and inserts a small synthetic drain tube. Cerebrospinal fluid is removed from inside the brain, helping to relieve the pressure.
  • Surgery: Surgery may have one or more of these objectives :
    Removing section of the skull to alleviate intracranial pressure is an operation, described as a decompressive craniectomy.
    Removing or repairing the cause of the swelling, such as restoring a damaged artery or vein or removing a growth
This stock medical exhibit compares three axial views of the head and brain to describe the Progression of Brain Swelling. The following views are illustrated:
1- Normal brain anatomy with fluid filled space surrounding the brain.
2- Mild cerebral edema with brain tissue pressing outward against the skull walls.
3- Moderate cerebral edema with further brain tissue swelling and inflammation, compressing the ventricles within the brain.

Are There long term effects of Swelling?

It natural to have lingering effects from brain swelling as it can be traumatic. The issues you notice depend on the gravity as well as the position of the injury.
Symptoms can be any one of the following:

  • Depression
  • Thinking and attention skills
  • Headaches
  • Movement
  • Communication skills
    Your health care provider is available to help you overcome any these potential complication while some problems may extend to diminish over time, others may require ongoing treatment.

How Can I Protect my Head?

To guard the brain, keep these tips in mind as you go about your daily activities:

  • Use a headgear when biking, skating, playing contact sports, or performing other activities in which you might fall and hit your head.
  • Always wear seat belts properly when driving or riding in vehicles.
  • Make sure you are doing all you can to control high blood pressure and heart disease.
  • Avoid smoking.
  • When moving about in high altitudes, take your time — allow your body to adjust to the elevation.